Spartans duo given League Team recognition

Spartans duo Robbie Dale and Dan Maguire have been voted into the Evo-Stik Northern Premier League Premier Division Team of the Year.

The announcement was made at Sunday night’s Evo-Stik League awards where both players were in attendance to collect their awards.

Both players have been key factors in Spartans impressive form this season and have provided memorable moments for the Green Army along the way.

Dale began the season in impressive form and scored a remarkable solo goal in the closing stages at Frickley Athletic to mark his 350th appearance for the club. That wasn’t only outstanding goal the winger has notched this season with strikes against Witton Albion, Stafford Rangers and Whitby Town that will live long in the memory of Spartans fans.

Dale has also been awarded the captaincy by manager Tom Wade and has so far scored eleven goals and created sixteen more for his team mates.

Maguire’s rise to prominence has arguably been the story of Spartans season. Twelve months ago the striker was only just making his way into the Spartans side after joining from Seaton Delaval.

Now he is one of the most feared strikers in the Evo-Stik Northern Premier League having plundered twenty six goals this term, including his first Spartans hat-trick in the 6-2 home win over Stafford Rangers.

However far from being just a goalscorer Maguire has also created a remarkable nineteen goals for his team mates this season.

This has led to recognition from the FA as he was called up to the England “C” Representative Squad that faced a Northern League XI in a game to celebrate the League’s 125th anniversary. Maguire also spent time on trial at SkyBet League One side Oldham Athletic having impressed manager Lee Johnson with his non-stop, all action style of play.

The club wish to congratulate both players on their outstanding achievement and look forward to seeing the Green Army give them the ovation they deserve at Tuesday night’s Northumberland Senior Cup Semi Final Replay against Ashington.

The team in full was :

Ben Hinchcliffe – AFC Fylde

Kenny Strickland – Skelmersdale United
Adam Mather- Chorley
Andrew Teague – Chorley
Keil O’Brien – Chorley

Bradley Barnes – AFC Fylde
Robbie Dale – Blyth Spartans
Matt Chadwick – Ashton United

Gavin Allot – Frickley Athletic
Dan Maguire – Blyth Spartans
Leon Mettam – Worksop Town

Posted by BSAFC Admin