Blyth Spartans Announce Squad Retained List For New Season

Blyth Spartans can today confirm the retained list for the club’s upcoming return to the Vanarama National League North.

In addition to Daniel Maguire signing a two-year deal, the majority of the squad that coasted to the Evo-Stik Premier League title have put pen to paper on new deals to keep them at Croft Park for another season.

The current list of contracted players for 2017/18 are as follows:

– David Atkinson

– Nathan Buddle
– Ryan Hutchinson
– Jordan Laidler
– Michael Liddle
– Daniel Maguire
– David McTiernan
– Damen Mullen
– Sean Reid
– Jarrett Rivers
– Jordan Watson
– Adam Wrightson

Right-back Andrew Cartwright has agreed terms, but is yet to register due to being on holiday in Australia. Spartans captain Robert Dale and player/assistant manager Neal Hooks have also agreed terms and are expected to sign on the dotted line in the next week or so.

Meanwhile, the club has taken the decision to release goalkeeper Adam McHugh and defender Richard Pell. Blyth Spartans would like to thank both players for their services to the club and wish them well for the future.

Further signings are expected between now and the start of the season – as manager Alun Armstrong continues to build for 2017/18.

Posted by Glen Maxwell