News | Blyth Spartans retained list 2020

Blyth Spartans AFC can announce its retained list following the end of the 2019-20 National League North season.

Players on contract for the 2020-21 season

Kris Thackray, Rhys Evans, Corey McKeown and Robbie Dale. 

The club has exercised an option on Olly Scott’s contract and are finalising the final details. 

Players offered new terms

Adam Wrightson

Players not offered new deals

Anthony Callaghan, Tom Devitt, Lewis Hawkins, Jack Hunter, Damen Mullen and Ben Harmison.

Players already released

Scott Fenwick, Lewis Horner, Michael Sweet, Jordan Summerly. 

Players who return to parent clubs following loan spells

Zach Hemming (Middlesbrough), Aaron Cunningham (Hartlepool), Shane Blaney (Doncaster Rovers), Scott Wilson (Burnley), Mark Waddington (Barrow) and Leighton McIntosh (Wrexham).

Michael Nelson explained: “Difficult conversations have taken place over the last few days in line with our new budget, however our recruitment for next season is underway and offers have been made to some targets. 

“I would like to thank each player for their professionalism during these tough times and wish them all the best in their future endeavours.”

Blyth Spartans AFC would like to place on record its gratitude to those players departing the club and wish them the very best for the future.

Posted by Jordan Cronin