Club Statement | Retained List 2021

Blyth Spartans AFC can confirm its retained list ahead of the 2021/22 National League North season. 

We are currently in negotiations with Rhys Evans, Connor Thomson, Corey McKeown and Jamie Clark and hope to announce a positive outcome soon. 

The following players have not been offered fresh terms and have therefore left the club:

Brendan Pearson, Kieran Charlton, Matthew Elsdon, Alex Sakellaropoulos, Olly Scott, Callum Guy, Simon Heslop, Liam Agnew, Michael Cain, Levi Amantchi, Morgan Dart, Panos Katsamagkas and Kurt Russell. 

As previously announced, Kris Thackray has retired from football. 

JJ O’Donnell and Dan Wilson have returned to Gateshead and North Shields, respectively, after their loan deals expired. 

Michael Nelson, manager Blyth Spartans, said: “I’d like to place on record my thanks to the players that are leaving us. 

“Last season was a tough one for everyone, not least with the Covid-19 pandemic, however the lads handled themselves brilliantly and always gave me 100%.

“I wish them all the best for the future.

“Rest assured, myself and the board are already planning for next season and have identified targets we feel may become available when their current contracts expire.”

We echo Michael’s comments in thanking the players for their efforts during what was an unprecedented campaign last time out.

Posted by BSAFC Admin